Fleet operators, plant owners and IoT product firms
Sell sensor data to AI? Read your IoT platforms' terms first
Years of machine readings often sit in somebody else's cloud: a telematics service, an industrial data platform, a device cloud. We read 22 documents from 11 of those platforms, newest on 2026-10-28: 6 say the data belongs to the business, and 5 keep a right to an aggregated or anonymised copy.
IoT platform terms on your readings, platform by platform
11 vendors, read 2026-10-28
-
Arduino
- Whose data the readings are:
- not stated
- Platform keeps a pooled copy:
- not stated
- Getting the readings out at exit:
- not stated
-
AWS
- Whose data the readings are:
- the business
- Platform keeps a pooled copy:
- excluded
- Getting the readings out at exit:
- 30 days
-
Blynk
- Whose data the readings are:
- the business
- Platform keeps a pooled copy:
- reserved
- Getting the readings out at exit:
- not stated
-
Cognite
- Whose data the readings are:
- the business
- Platform keeps a pooled copy:
- reserved
- Getting the readings out at exit:
- on request
-
Geotab
- Whose data the readings are:
- not stated
- Platform keeps a pooled copy:
- reserved
- Getting the readings out at exit:
- not stated
-
Inductive Automation
- Whose data the readings are:
- not stated
- Platform keeps a pooled copy:
- not stated
- Getting the readings out at exit:
- not stated
Card 1 of 2
Describe the sensor and machine data you hold
- The sensor data 2 questions, 2 required
- The business behind the devices 9 questions, 8 required
- Timing and who is writing 6 questions, 5 required
Card 2 of 2
Three steps
-
Tell us what the devices measure, how long they have logged and which clouds or historians hold the readings.
-
We check those platforms' clauses on the board and the rules on connected product data, database rights and personal data that decide what can be licensed.
-
We reply with the route that fits: a licence while the business keeps running, a sale of the readings by its directors when a solvent business closes or by the administrator, liquidator or trustee of one that cannot pay its debts, or a route agreed with the adviser who sent you.
No IoT platform, telematics service or data buyer pays to appear here, and nothing on the site is an affiliate link. Each answer is our reading of a platform's published terms or of a statute, not advice on your own contracts. Our fee: when a business licenses or sells its sensor data to a buyer we introduced, it pays us 12.5% of the deal, with a minimum charge, if we act as its exclusive agent, or 10%, with a minimum charge, if its data goes into a bundle or the pool, agreed in writing beforehand; anything a buyer pays us is credited back to the business.
IoT platform terms on your readings, platform by platform
Last updated
One row per telematics service, IoT cloud or industrial data platform, each answer resting on a sentence of the document named beside it. Not stated means the documents we read, end to end, never answer the question.
Each vendor's own published terms were read through estate-fetch and stored whole (sha256 on every row). For every document, four questions were answered from the vendor's own words: who owns the business's data, vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use, training AI on the business's data, export at exit. Every stated answer carries the sentence it rests on, checked against the stored text; 'not stated' means the document read does not address the question. A vendor with several documents reads 'varies' where they disagree. 11 vendors, 22 documents.
| IoT or telematics platform | Whose data the readings are | Platform keeps a pooled copy | Getting the readings out at exit | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arduino | not stated | not stated | not stated | Arduino Terms and Conditions |
| AWS | the business | excluded | 30 days | AWS Service Terms (AWS IoT Services, section 39) |
| Blynk | the business | reserved | not stated | Blynk Platform Terms of Service |
| Cognite | the business | reserved | on request | Cognite End User License Agreement |
| Geotab | not stated | reserved | not stated | Geotab Main Services Agreement, Canada and US (2026-07-23) |
| Inductive Automation | not stated | not stated | not stated | Inductive Automation Master Software License Agreement (Ignition) |
| Losant | the business | reserved | not stated | Losant Terms of Service |
| Microsoft | not stated | not stated | not stated | Microsoft Product Terms, privacy and security terms |
| Particle | the business | not stated | not stated | Particle Terms of Use |
| Samsara | the business | reserved | no export promised | Samsara Master Terms of Service |
| ThingsBoard | not stated | not stated | no export promised | ThingsBoard Cloud Terms of Use |
- 6 of 11 IoT and telematics platforms whose terms we read say the business owns its device data, newest read 2026-10-28. (Iot software data terms: every row, with its source)
Cite this page
“IoT platform terms on your readings, platform by platform”, Sell Sensor Data to AI, https://sellsensordatatoai.com/ (updated 2026-10-28). Each vendor's own published terms were read through estate-fetch and stored whole (sha256 on every row). For every document, four questions were answered from the vendor's own words: who owns the business's data, vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use, training AI on the business's data, export at exit. Every stated answer carries the sentence it rests on, checked against the stored text; 'not stated' means the document read does not address the question. A vendor with several documents reads 'varies' where they disagree. 11 vendors, 22 documents.
Straight answers
Can a business sell the data its sensors collect to an AI company?
Usually, where the business owns the readings and they hold no personal data it has not cleared. On this board 6 of 11 platforms say the data is the customer's; the others' documents do not say. What a platform kept for itself, and whether drivers or tenants can be identified, decide the rest.(Iot software data terms: every row, with its source)
Does Samsara or Geotab own my fleet's telematics data?
Samsara's master terms say the customer owns all Customer Data, while reserving data that is anonymised, de-identified or aggregated. Geotab's main services agreement says Geotab and its licensors own Aggregated Data. Neither document we read claims the raw readings for the platform.(Iot software data terms: every row, with its source)
Do IoT platforms train AI on my device data?
Only ThingsBoard says either way: its cloud terms say it does not use customer data to train or improve its own AI models. The documents we read from the other 10 platforms are silent on training.(Iot software data terms: every row, with its source)
Does the European Data Act change who can sell machine data?
It gives the user of a connected product, the business that owns, rents or leases it, a right to the data the product generates, and it says a manufacturer holding non-personal product data may use it only on the basis of a contract with that user. It has applied since 12 September 2025.(Iot software data terms: every row, with its source)
Is a log of sensor readings protected as a database?
In the EU, not by the database right where the data comes from a connected product: Article 43 of the Data Act switches that right off. In the UK a database right runs 15 years from the end of the year the database was completed. In the US, copyright never covers the underlying facts.(Iot software data terms: every row, with its source)
Who buys sensor, telemetry and vehicle data?
Some of the organisations on our buyer board name it on their own pages: Deepen's Refinery marketplace takes sensor and vehicle data for physical AI, Datarade lists IoT data providers, and Scale AI names data from operating businesses and robots. Most of the rest name other kinds of data.(Iot software data terms: every row, with its source)
Sources
This site's own datasets, every figure quoted from its source and dated:
- Iot software data terms: 5 of 11 iot software vendors whose terms we read reserve the right to use their customers' data in aggregated or anonymised form, read 28 October 2026.
- Who takes sensor readings and machine data for AI training: Sensor, IoT, telemetry or machine data is named by 8 of 16 organisations on this board, read 28 October 2026.
- The Sensor Data Rights Law carries 4 published figures read from 4 sources' own pages, from 3 to 15 year, read 28 October 2026.