Iot software data terms
5 of 11 iot software vendors whose terms we read reserve the right to use their customers' data in aggregated or anonymised form, read 28 October 2026.
Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use
Who owns the business's data
Training AI on the business's data
Export at exit
Every answer from every vendor
One vendor to a row. Expand an answer for its source sentence, word for word, plus the document and the read date; "not stated" means that document does not cover the question.
| Vendor | Who owns the business's data | Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use | Training AI on the business's data | Export at exit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arduino | not statedNot addressed in Arduino Terms and Conditions | not statedNot addressed in Arduino Terms and Conditions | not statedNot addressed in Arduino Terms and Conditions | not statedNot addressed in Arduino Terms and Conditions |
| AWS | the businessNot addressed in AWS Service Terms (AWS IoT Services, section 39) | excludedNot addressed in AWS Service Terms (AWS IoT Services, section 39) | not statedNot addressed in AWS Service Terms (AWS IoT Services, section 39) Not addressed in AWS Customer Agreement | 30 daysNot addressed in AWS Service Terms (AWS IoT Services, section 39) |
| Blynk | the business | reserved | not statedNot addressed in Blynk Platform Terms of Service | not statedNot addressed in Blynk Platform Terms of Service |
| Cognite | the business Not addressed in Cognite Security Appendix | reserved Not addressed in Cognite Master Subscription and Professional Services Agreement Not addressed in Cognite Security Appendix | not statedNot addressed in Cognite End User License Agreement Not addressed in Cognite Master Subscription and Professional Services Agreement Not addressed in Cognite Security Appendix | on requestNot addressed in Cognite End User License Agreement Not addressed in Cognite Security Appendix |
| Geotab | not statedNot addressed in Geotab Main Services Agreement, Canada and US (2026-07-23) Not addressed in Geotab Main Services Agreement, Europe and UK (2026-07-23) Not addressed in Geotab Privacy Policy | reserved | not statedNot addressed in Geotab Main Services Agreement, Canada and US (2026-07-23) Not addressed in Geotab Main Services Agreement, Europe and UK (2026-07-23) Not addressed in Geotab Privacy Policy | not statedNot addressed in Geotab Main Services Agreement, Canada and US (2026-07-23) Not addressed in Geotab Main Services Agreement, Europe and UK (2026-07-23) Not addressed in Geotab Privacy Policy |
| Inductive Automation | not statedNot addressed in Inductive Automation Master Software License Agreement (Ignition) | not statedNot addressed in Inductive Automation Master Software License Agreement (Ignition) | not statedNot addressed in Inductive Automation Master Software License Agreement (Ignition) | not statedNot addressed in Inductive Automation Master Software License Agreement (Ignition) |
| Losant | the businessNot addressed in Losant Terms of Service Not addressed in Losant Privacy Policy | reserved Not addressed in Losant Privacy Policy | not statedNot addressed in Losant Terms of Service Not addressed in Losant Enterprise Terms of Service Not addressed in Losant Privacy Policy | not statedNot addressed in Losant Terms of Service Not addressed in Losant Enterprise Terms of Service Not addressed in Losant Privacy Policy |
| Microsoft | not statedNot addressed in Microsoft Product Terms, privacy and security terms | not statedNot addressed in Microsoft Product Terms, privacy and security terms | not statedNot addressed in Microsoft Product Terms, privacy and security terms | not statedNot addressed in Microsoft Product Terms, privacy and security terms |
| Particle | the business Not addressed in Particle products privacy addendum | not statedNot addressed in Particle Terms of Use Not addressed in Particle products privacy addendum | not statedNot addressed in Particle Terms of Use Not addressed in Particle products privacy addendum | not statedNot addressed in Particle Terms of Use Not addressed in Particle products privacy addendum |
| Samsara | the business | reserved Not addressed in Samsara commitment to privacy | not statedNot addressed in Samsara Master Terms of Service Not addressed in Samsara Terms of Service (UK) Not addressed in Samsara Enterprise Trial Agreement Not addressed in Samsara commitment to privacy | no export promised Not addressed in Samsara Enterprise Trial Agreement Not addressed in Samsara commitment to privacy |
| ThingsBoard | not statedNot addressed in ThingsBoard Cloud Terms of Use | not statedNot addressed in ThingsBoard Cloud Terms of Use | will not train | no export promised |
The source sentence behind every answer (88)
- Arduino, Arduino Terms and Conditions, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data: Left open by the document (93,395 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Arduino, Arduino Terms and Conditions, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use: Left open by the document (93,395 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Arduino, Arduino Terms and Conditions, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (93,395 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Arduino, Arduino Terms and Conditions, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (93,395 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- AWS, AWS Customer Agreement, read 2026-10-12, Who owns the business's data:
you or your licensors own all right, title, and interest in and to Your Content and Suggestions
- AWS, AWS Customer Agreement, read 2026-10-12, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use:
We will not access or use Your Content except as necessary to maintain or provide the Services, or as necessary to comply with the law
- AWS, AWS Customer Agreement, read 2026-10-12, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (104,102 characters, read in full 2026-10-12).
- AWS, AWS Customer Agreement, read 2026-10-12, Export at exit:
during the 30 days following the Termination Date
- AWS, AWS Service Terms (AWS IoT Services, section 39), read 2026-10-08, Who owns the business's data: Left open by the document (352,556 characters, read in full 2026-10-08).
- AWS, AWS Service Terms (AWS IoT Services, section 39), read 2026-10-08, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use: Left open by the document (352,556 characters, read in full 2026-10-08).
- AWS, AWS Service Terms (AWS IoT Services, section 39), read 2026-10-08, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (352,556 characters, read in full 2026-10-08).
- AWS, AWS Service Terms (AWS IoT Services, section 39), read 2026-10-08, Export at exit: Left open by the document (352,556 characters, read in full 2026-10-08).
- Blynk, Blynk Platform Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data:
You shall own all right, title and interest in and to Your Content
- Blynk, Blynk Platform Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use:
disclose such data solely in aggregate or other de-identified form in connection with its b
- Blynk, Blynk Platform Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (46,832 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Blynk, Blynk Platform Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (46,832 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Cognite, Cognite Security Appendix, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data: Left open by the document (28,506 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Cognite, Cognite Security Appendix, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use: Left open by the document (28,506 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Cognite, Cognite Security Appendix, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (28,506 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Cognite, Cognite Security Appendix, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (28,506 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Cognite, Cognite End User License Agreement, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data:
The End-Customer shall, except as otherwise agreed between the Cognite Partner and the End-Customer, retain ownership of End-Customer Data.
- Cognite, Cognite End User License Agreement, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use:
Cognite may use anonymized End-Customer Data to provide, secure, and improve Cognite Technology
- Cognite, Cognite End User License Agreement, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (39,193 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Cognite, Cognite End User License Agreement, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (39,193 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Cognite, Cognite Master Subscription and Professional Services Agreement, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data:
The Customer shall retain ownership of its Customer Data.
- Cognite, Cognite Master Subscription and Professional Services Agreement, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use: Left open by the document (69,863 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Cognite, Cognite Master Subscription and Professional Services Agreement, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (69,863 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Cognite, Cognite Master Subscription and Professional Services Agreement, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit:
Cognite shall, upon the Customer's request, at any time during the Term, make commercially reasonable efforts to make all Customer Data available to the Customer in a structured, commonly used, and machine-readable format
- Geotab, Geotab Main Services Agreement, Canada and US (2026-07-23), read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data: Left open by the document (122,637 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Geotab, Geotab Main Services Agreement, Canada and US (2026-07-23), read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use:
Geotab and/or its licensors have ownership of Aggregated Data
- Geotab, Geotab Main Services Agreement, Canada and US (2026-07-23), read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (122,637 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Geotab, Geotab Main Services Agreement, Canada and US (2026-07-23), read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (122,637 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Geotab, Geotab Main Services Agreement, Europe and UK (2026-07-23), read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data: Left open by the document (142,141 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Geotab, Geotab Main Services Agreement, Europe and UK (2026-07-23), read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use:
Geotab and/or its licensors have ownership of Aggregated Data
- Geotab, Geotab Main Services Agreement, Europe and UK (2026-07-23), read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (142,141 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Geotab, Geotab Main Services Agreement, Europe and UK (2026-07-23), read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (142,141 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Geotab, Geotab Privacy Policy, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data: Left open by the document (23,347 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Geotab, Geotab Privacy Policy, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use:
Once anonymized or de-identified, your data will be used strictly for statistical, research, or operational purposes
- Geotab, Geotab Privacy Policy, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (23,347 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Geotab, Geotab Privacy Policy, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (23,347 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Inductive Automation, Inductive Automation Master Software License Agreement (Ignition), read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data: Left open by the document (58,762 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Inductive Automation, Inductive Automation Master Software License Agreement (Ignition), read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use: Left open by the document (58,762 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Inductive Automation, Inductive Automation Master Software License Agreement (Ignition), read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (58,762 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Inductive Automation, Inductive Automation Master Software License Agreement (Ignition), read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (58,762 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Losant, Losant Privacy Policy, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data: Left open by the document (9,980 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Losant, Losant Privacy Policy, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use: Left open by the document (9,980 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Losant, Losant Privacy Policy, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (9,980 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Losant, Losant Privacy Policy, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (9,980 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Losant, Losant Enterprise Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data:
As between the parties, you retain ownership of all Intellectual Property Rights in the Customer Data
- Losant, Losant Enterprise Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use:
aggregate and distribute Customer Data for the purpose of providing the Losant Products to you, support, and for developing and improving our services and products
- Losant, Losant Enterprise Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (39,937 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Losant, Losant Enterprise Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (39,937 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Losant, Losant Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data: Left open by the document (31,860 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Losant, Losant Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use:
Losant shall have a non-exclusive, non-transferable, worldwide, perpetual, irrevocable license to collect, analyze or use statistical data relating to its delivery of the Losant Service derived from the Customer Data
- Losant, Losant Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (31,860 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Losant, Losant Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (31,860 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Microsoft, Microsoft Product Terms, privacy and security terms, read 2026-10-08, Who owns the business's data: Left open by the document (69,658 characters, read in full 2026-10-08).
- Microsoft, Microsoft Product Terms, privacy and security terms, read 2026-10-08, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use: Left open by the document (69,658 characters, read in full 2026-10-08).
- Microsoft, Microsoft Product Terms, privacy and security terms, read 2026-10-08, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (69,658 characters, read in full 2026-10-08).
- Microsoft, Microsoft Product Terms, privacy and security terms, read 2026-10-08, Export at exit: Left open by the document (69,658 characters, read in full 2026-10-08).
- Particle, Particle products privacy addendum, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data: Left open by the document (6,700 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Particle, Particle products privacy addendum, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use: Left open by the document (6,700 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Particle, Particle products privacy addendum, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (6,700 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Particle, Particle products privacy addendum, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (6,700 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Particle, Particle Terms of Use, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data:
As between the parties, You own the data and any other content transmitted and processed through Your Self-Service Account
- Particle, Particle Terms of Use, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use: Left open by the document (39,740 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Particle, Particle Terms of Use, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (39,740 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Particle, Particle Terms of Use, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (39,740 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Samsara, Samsara Master Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data:
Customer owns all Customer Data, and Samsara will keep Customer Data confidential
- Samsara, Samsara Master Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use:
means any anonymized, de-identified, and/or aggregated data and/or publicly available information relating to Customer’s use of the Products
- Samsara, Samsara Master Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (51,136 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Samsara, Samsara Master Terms of Service, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit:
or Customer Data has been stored beyond Samsara's data retention policies, the applicable Customer Data may be immediately deleted
- Samsara, Samsara Enterprise Trial Agreement, read 2026-10-08, Who owns the business's data:
Customer owns all Customer-specific data captured by Customer’s use of any installed Trial Hardware
- Samsara, Samsara Enterprise Trial Agreement, read 2026-10-08, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use:
any anonymized, de-identified, and/or aggregated data and/or publicly available information relating to Customer’s use of the Products
- Samsara, Samsara Enterprise Trial Agreement, read 2026-10-08, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (28,426 characters, read in full 2026-10-08).
- Samsara, Samsara Enterprise Trial Agreement, read 2026-10-08, Export at exit: Left open by the document (28,426 characters, read in full 2026-10-08).
- Samsara, Samsara commitment to privacy, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data:
Our customers own their data and are in charge of directing and controlling how Samsara collects and processes it.
- Samsara, Samsara commitment to privacy, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use: Left open by the document (8,172 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Samsara, Samsara commitment to privacy, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (8,172 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Samsara, Samsara commitment to privacy, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit: Left open by the document (8,172 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Samsara, Samsara Terms of Service (UK), read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data:
Customer owns all Customer Data, and Samsara will keep Customer Data confidential
- Samsara, Samsara Terms of Service (UK), read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use:
means any anonymized, de-identified, and/or aggregated data and/or publicly available information relating to Customer’s use of the Products
- Samsara, Samsara Terms of Service (UK), read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data: Left open by the document (59,965 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- Samsara, Samsara Terms of Service (UK), read 2026-10-28, Export at exit:
or Customer Data has been stored beyond Samsara's data retention policies, the applicable Customer Data may be immediately deleted
- ThingsBoard, ThingsBoard Cloud Terms of Use, read 2026-10-28, Who owns the business's data: Left open by the document (29,763 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- ThingsBoard, ThingsBoard Cloud Terms of Use, read 2026-10-28, Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use: Left open by the document (29,763 characters, read in full 2026-10-28).
- ThingsBoard, ThingsBoard Cloud Terms of Use, read 2026-10-28, Training AI on the business's data:
ThingsBoard does not use Customer data to train or improve any proprietary ThingsBoard AI models
- ThingsBoard, ThingsBoard Cloud Terms of Use, read 2026-10-28, Export at exit:
all rights and access to the Service are terminated for Customer (including access to Customer Data, if applicable)
Read and excluded
After reading, 2 named documents were excluded as off the board's subject; the reasons sit below. They count as read but give no answers.
- Altitude by Geotab terms and conditions: Geotab's terms for buyers of its own aggregated fleet data on the Altitude platform, not terms on what Geotab may do with a customer's readings
- Litmus legal: Litmus's legal index page: cookie notice and links to its agreements, no clause on customer data
How the figures are worked out
Each vendor's own published terms were read through estate-fetch and stored whole (sha256 on every row).
For every document, four questions were answered from the vendor's own words: who owns the business's data, vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use, training AI on the business's data, export at exit.
Every stated answer carries the sentence it rests on, checked against the stored text; 'not stated' means the document read does not address the question.
A vendor with several documents reads 'varies' where they disagree.
11 vendors, 22 documents.
24 sources, with links
- AWS Service Terms (AWS IoT) (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- AWS Customer Agreement (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Microsoft Product Terms: privacy and security terms (Azure IoT) (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Samsara Master Terms of Service (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Samsara Terms of Service (UK) (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Samsara Enterprise Trial Agreement (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Samsara commitment to privacy (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Geotab Main Services Agreement, Canada and US (2026-07-23) (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Geotab Main Services Agreement, Europe and UK (2026-07-23) (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Geotab Privacy Policy (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Altitude by Geotab terms and conditions (read, set aside)
- Particle Terms of Use (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Particle products privacy addendum (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- ThingsBoard Cloud Terms of Use (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Losant Terms of Service (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Losant Enterprise Terms of Service (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Losant Privacy Policy (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Blynk Platform Terms of Service (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Arduino Terms and Conditions (Arduino Cloud) (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Cognite End User License Agreement (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Cognite Master Subscription and Professional Services Agreement (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Cognite Security Appendix (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Inductive Automation Master Software License Agreement (Ignition) (quoted for reporting from the vendor's published terms)
- Litmus legal (read, set aside)
Quote this figure or put it on your site
5 of 11 iot software vendors whose terms we read reserve the right to use their customers' data in aggregated or anonymised form, read 28 October 2026.
Who owns the business's data, by vendor: the business 6 of 11, not stated 5 of 11 (iot software terms, read 28 October 2026).
Vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use, by vendor: not stated 5 of 11, reserved 5 of 11, excluded 1 of 11 (iot software terms, read 28 October 2026).
Training AI on the business's data, by vendor: not stated 10 of 11, will not train 1 of 11 (iot software terms, read 28 October 2026).
Export at exit, by vendor: not stated 7 of 11, no export promised 2 of 11, a number of days 1 of 11, on request 1 of 11 (iot software terms, read 28 October 2026).
Credit as: "Iot software data terms", updated 2026-10-28, https://sellsensordatatoai.com/datasets/iot-software-data-terms/.
Save the CSV (88 answers; derived 2026-10-28)